Whore. (it’s not what you think)

I’m the girl you’ve been thinking about
The one thing you can’t live without
I’m the girl you’ve been waiting for
I’ll have you down on your knees
I’ll have you begging for more
You probably thought I wouldn’t get this far
You thought I’d end up in the back of a car
You probably thought that I’d never escape
I’d be a rat in a cage, I’d be a slave to this place
You don’t know how hard I fought to survive,
Waking up alone when I was left to die
You don’t know about this life I’ve lived,
All these roads I’ve walked
All these tears I’ve bled
So how can this be?
You’re praying to me
There’s a look in your eyes,
I know just what that means
I can be, I can be your everything

I can be your whore.
I am the dirt you created
I am your sinner
I am your whore
But let me tell you something baby
You love me for everything you hate me for

Whore- In This Moment

In this time of depression many songs have stood out as something more than just words sung, more than just thoughts.  This song is an anthem.  It is so uplifting.  Essentially to me these words not only talk about the life this woman has went through, but also the fact that she is willing to do just about anything to get what she wants.

Need her to be  a savior, she’ll do it, Whore? She’ll do that too.  She’s been in the gutter and fought her way out.   She’ll keep fighting after this guy is gone, that girl, whatever.  She’s a strong woman.  The voice is strong, and screamo at times.

 

But it’s an anthem, it tells me that it’s ok, it’s ok to not be liked for some reason.  It’s ok to be liked for another.  It reminds me that sometimes it’s ok to be in a relationship of just plain fun and frivolity, with no actual feelings, or commitment.

It’s ok to be friends, and to date.  It’s just fucking ok.

And if this woman can get out and fight to survive, so can I.  So will I.

Thanks to the amazing lead singer of In This Moment, I may go deaf, but I am sated.


Also down 30.8 # today.  That’s something to celebrate!  (With boardgames.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

