A letter to ease my mind

Dear Jack Frost,

 

I will miss you.  I miss you already.  I miss your smile, the laughter I’d hear time and again in the first two years of our long distance relationship.  I miss the way your accent wasn’t so much different than mine, but at the same time that northern found it’s way out at the oddest minutes.

 

I will miss talking to you every day, about the television shows we enjoyed.  I’ll miss our conversations about absolutely nothing, and I’ll miss the tomber of your voice.

 

I keep fighting the urge to call you.  It’s a habit I’m breaking slowly I guess.  It’s something I should have broken whilst we were still together.  I should have waited to see how long it took for you to put forth effort, not just me.  

 

I should not have waited so long for your visit.  I should have pushed harder, and I should definitely treat myself with more respect, and expect that a man interested in me should want to spend time with me.

 

These are things i should do, but this letter isn’t supposed to be about me, it’s about you, Jack Frost.

 

Your next relationship,

 

  1. Tell her that you love her.  Sometime… in the 3+ years we were together you refused to say it.
  2. Show her that you love her.  Your television is not as important as your partner in crime, at least not all day, everyday.
  3. If she starts a game you are interested in, after showing NO interest in it at all, do not lead her there and then act as if you are God and they are unable to learn anything, or that they are doing something artistic and instead of saying ‘good job! But why not use the color scheme I picked out for you.’  Say  “good job!” and mean it.  It doesn’t matter if what every artsy thing she  made looks like squashed shit, mean it.
  4. If online, or real life, GO ON DATES.  Online that may mean a movie shared over the phone or skype, OR a tv show.  For real life the possibilities are endless.  Just make sure you do it.
  5. Meet the family.  If she asks and you are at a point where you talking about moving in, especially across the gods forsaken country, then when you say ‘sure I’ll visit and meet the family.’  Mean it.  JUST FUCKING DO IT.  Don’t leave her waiting for 3 years hoping you show up.
  6. Do not wave a carrot in front of her face and snatch it away, over and over and over.  Do not make her feel like she has no choice in the matter.
  7. Do not forget that she may have a history that does not take kindly to being yelled at or to.  
  8. No matter how much you have in common, you will not always like the same things, do not FORCE a crappy show on her.
  9. Treat her with at least as much respect as you expect from her.
  10. If you’ve went back to an ex all of this still holds true, but you’re a fucking asshole.

Madison

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

